Accessibility Options

Nomination of appointment of Chairs for Police Misconduct Hearings


Approve the 17 nominations of appointment for Chairs of Police Misconduct Hearings under The Police (Conduct) Regulations 2012 (as amended) and for Cambridgeshire Office of the Police and Crime Commissioner to maintain the list of Chairs on behalf of the Eastern Region Police and Crime Commissioners

Decision Summary

The Police (Conduct) Regulations 2012 (amended by Police (Conduct) (Amendment) Regulations 2015 (“the Regulations”) brings more transparency, independence and justice to the police disciplinary system.

The Regulations provide that from the 1st January 2016, Police Misconduct Hearings will be conducted by a Chair, a member of a police force of at least the rank of superintendent and an Independent Member.

Under the Regulations, Police and Crime Commissioners are responsible for nominating Chairs and thereafter for maintaining and administering the list of the Chairs. Chairs are not judicial appointments but must fulfil a judicial appointment eligibility condition as set out in section 50 of the Tribunals, Courts and Enforcement Act, i.e possess a relevant legal qualification for the requisite period of five years.


Whilst it was for individual Commissioners to recruit, nominate, appoint and maintain the list of Chairs, the Eastern Region Police and Crime Commissioners (Bedfordshire, Cambridgeshire, Essex, Hertfordshire, Norfolk and Suffolk), ran a regional recruitment exercise to appoint a pool of Chairs for the region.


The names of those recommended for the nomination of appointment of Chair are:

Recommended Names
John Bassett Maurice Cohen Hannah Graves James Tunbridge
Angela Black Monica Daley-Campbell Graham Humby Alexandra Ward
Karen Booth Neil Dalton Trevor Jones  
Colin Chapman Steven Evans Sarah Moore  
Hazel Clark Siobhan Goodrich Peter Nicholls